Pitching Arab Animation Forums

Nominated for the Robert Bosch Stiftung’s Co-Production Prize for international cooperation.

The Silent Teller

Ahmad Saleh

Jury Mention:

The Jury of the Pitching Competition congratulates the Robert Bosch Stiftung for the Encouragement it gives for the young Arabic filmmakers. We’re awarding this project because of it’s strong emotions. It describes a life long journey of a man to his own roots.

 

Arab Animation Forum 2016

Following the great success of the Event in the last years the Stuttgart Festival of Animated Film and the Robert Bosch Stiftung are glad to present the Arab Animation Forum 2016 from April 28th through May 1st.
The Arab Animation Forum connects young animation directors and artists from the Arab World (member states of the “League of Arab States”)  with  upcoming producers from Germany in order to support joint animated film projects. The aim of the Arab Animation Forum is to identify interesting projects and to connect potential co-production partners directed towards a possible application for the Film Prize of the Robert Bosch Stiftung for International Cooperation.

Eligible to attend the Arab Animation Forum are animation filmmakers from the Arab World looking for a producer or coproducer as well as German producers interested in producing or coproducing an animated film project.

The selected filmmakers get the opportunity to present their animation film projects to a professional jury during a pitching session and receive an evaluation of their projects.

The selected producers get to talk to the Arab directors on their projects in several personal meetings and so develop a comprehensive picture of the co-production possibilities.

Thereby the Arab Animation Forum offers a unique chance to create new co-productions. Additionally there will be several meetings, workshops, consultings and matching sessions on the agenda.

The winning project of the Arab Animation Forum is automatically nominated for the Film Prize of the Robert Bosch Stiftung for International Cooperation. (For the nomination a German producer is required. Winning a German producer for the project is still possible after the Arab Animation Forum.)

Find the detailed call for proposals and the application form for Arab fimmakers here.

Find the detailed call for proposals and the application form for German producers here.

Find more information on the Film Prize of the Robert Bosch Stiftung for International Cooperation on www.filmprize.de

Supported by:

RBStiftungLogo Klein

_O1B3058

Panel: Producing Animation in the Arab World

(Talk in Englisch, free admission)

During this public discussion within the Arab Animation Forum, animation directors and producers from the Arab World talk about the working conditions and education opportunities of their home countries. What significance does Animation have in the Arab society? How do you finance films? What political conditions do Arab artists have to deal with?  How is the situation concerning freedom of speech and artistic expression? And which expressive possibilities do artists have particularly in animated film? We welcome to the panel Berlin-based Syrian filmmaker Jalal Maghout, Neyla Majdalani, Administrative Officer at Académie Libanaise des Beaux-Arts (ALBA) Beirut and Egyptian producer Marianne Khoury.

Furthermore the participating directors of the Forum from Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Sudan and Syria are sharing their points of view and experiences.

The panel is hosted by Italian scholar Giannalberto Bendazzi, who dedicates his research to the world history of animation.

Stiftung Geißstraße 7, Stiftungssaal
Samstag, 30. April, 19 Uhr

Pitching des Arab Animation Forums

The Silent Teller

Ahmad Saleh

Jurybegründung:

Die Jury der Pitching Competition gratuliert der Robert Bosch Stiftung zu der Förderung, die sie jungen arabischen Filmemachern zukommen lässt. Wir zeichnen dieses Projekt aufgrund seiner starken Emotionen aus. Es beschreibt die lebenslange Reise eines Mannes zu seinen eigenen Wurzeln.

 

 

Nach dem Erfolg der Veranstaltung in den vergangenen Jahren präsentieren das Internationale Trickfilm-Festival Stuttgart und die Robert Bosch Stiftung vom 28. April bis 1. Mai das Arab Animation Forum 2016.

Das Arab Animation Forum will Nachwuchsproduzenten aus Deutschland mit jungen Animationskünstlern und -regisseuren aus der Arabischen Welt (Mitgliedstaaten der Arabischen Liga) zusammen und gemeinsame Animationsfilmprojekte auf den Weg bringen. Ziel des Forums ist es, interessante Projekte ausfindig zu machen und diese interessierten Produzenten vorzustellen, um so mögliche Koproduktionsteams in Hinblick auf eine Bewerbung für den Filmförderpreis der Robert Bosch Stiftung für internationale Zusammenarbeit zusammenzuführen.

Für die Teilnahme am Arab Animation Forum können sich sowohl arabische Animationsfilmemacher auf der Suche nach einem Produzenten oder Koproduzenten als auch deutsche Produzenten mit Interesse an der Produktion oder Koproduktion eines arabischen Animationsfilms bewerben.

Die ausgewählten Filmemacher haben dann im Rahmen des Forums die Möglichkeit, ihre Animationsfilmprojekte vor einer professionellen Jury in einer Pitching-Session zu präsentieren und ihre Konzepte einschätzen zu lassen.

Die ausgewählten Produzenten können während des Forums, die arabischen Filmemacher und deren Projekte in Einzelmeetings besser kennenlernen und sich so ein genaues Bild ihrer Koproduktionsmöglichkeiten machen.

Dadurch bietet das Arab Animation Forum die einmalige Chance, neue Koproduktionen zu bilden. Zusätzlich werden mehrere Treffen, Workshops, Consultings und Matching-Sessions stattfinden.

Das Gewinnerprojekt des Arab Animation Forums wird automatisch für den Filmpreis der Robert Bosch Stiftung für Internationale Zusammenarbeit nominiert. (Voraussetzung hierfür ist, dass das Gewinnerprojekt einen deutschen Produzenten vorweisen kann. Die Gewinnung eines deutschen Produzenten ist auch nach dem Arab Animation Forum möglich.)

Weitere Informationen über den Filmförderpreis der Robert Bosch Stiftung für internationale Zusammenarbeit finden Sie unter www.filmprize.de

Unterstützt von:

RBStiftungLogo Klein


_O1B3058

Panel: Producing Animation in the Arab World

(Diskussion in englischer Sprache, Eintritt frei)

In dieser öffentlichen Diskussion im Rahmen des Arab Animation Forum sprechen Animationsfilmregisseure und –produzenten aus der Arabischen Welt über die Arbeitsbedingungen und Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten in ihren Heimatländern. Welchen Stellenwert hat Animationsfilm in der Arabischen Welt? Welche Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten gibt es? Mit welchen politischen Rahmenbedingungen hat man es als arabischer Künstler zu tun? Wie steht es um die Freiheit von Kunst und Meinung? Und welche Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten bietet der Animationsfilm den Künstlern?
Auf dem Podium begrüßen wir den in Berlin lebenden syrischen Filmemacher Jalal Maghout, Neyla Majdalani, Studienkoordinatorin der Académie Libanaise des Beaux-Arts in Beirut und die ägyptische Produzentin Marianne Khoury.
Außerdem kommen die teilnehmenden Regisseure des Arab Animation Forums aus Algerien, Ägypten, Jordanien, Libanon, Palästina, Sudan und Syrien zu Wort.

Moderiert wird das Panel vom italienischen Wissenschaftler Giannalberto Bendazzi, der sich in seiner Forschung der Geschichte der Animation weltweit widmet.

Stiftung Geißstraße 7, Stiftungssaal
Samstag, 30. April, 19 Uhr